

Winter 2020 Special Edition

ASC DWCC Organization

Chair: Michael L. Benson

Vice Chair: Melissa Rorie

Secretary/Treasurer: David Mai-

mon

Executive Counselor: Mary Dodge

Executive Counselor: Adam Ghazi-

Tehrani

Executive Counselor: Jay Kennedy

Past Chair: Kristy Holtfreter

Organization website: https://

ascdwcc.org/

Congratulations Winners!

The White Collar Times

ASC Annual Meeting Special Edition

The official newsletter of the American Society of Criminology

Division of White-Collar and Corporate Crime

2019 DWCC Annual Award Winners

Student Paper Award: Matthew West and Shon Reed: "Thinking Fast or Thinking Slow: Thinking Styles and Deterrence"

Outstanding Article or Book Chapter Award: Lieselot Bisschop, Staci Stobl and Julie Viollaz: "Getting into Deep Water: Coastal Land Loss and State-Corporate Crime in the Louisiana Bayou"

Best Article Honorable Mention: Fred Pampel, Giulia Andrighetto and Sven Steinmo: "How Institutions and Attitudes Shape Tax Compliance: A Cross-National Experiment and Survey"

Outstanding Book Award: Vincenzo Ruggiero: "Dirty Money: On Financial Delinquency"

Gilbert Geis Lifetime Achievement Award: Michael Levi

Inside this issue

DWCC Awards	3-
DWCC Social Pictures	3-
DWCC Student Roundtable	5
DWCC Student Committee	5



Welcome New Executive Board Members!

This upcoming year, we welcome three new board members: Mary Dodge, Adam Ghazi-Tehrani, and Jay Kennedy. Melissa Rorie has been elected as vice-chair. We thank Gregg Barak, David Friedrichs, and Carole Gibbs, the outgoing board members, for their service.

DWCC Division Meeting and Awards



Carole Gibbs introduces the awards



Staci Stobl, winner of the Outstanding Article Award, with Division Chair, Michael Benson



Melissa Rorie introduces the winners of the Student Paper Award, Matthew West and Shon Reed



Matthew West and Shon Reed with Michael Benson

Join us in 2020!

November 18 - 21, 2020 in Washington, D.C. at the Washington D.C. Marriott Marquis

DWCC Division Meeting and Awards



Gregg Barak introduces the winner of the Outstanding Book Award, Vincenzo Ruggiero



Vincenzo Ruggiero with Michael Benson



Henry Pontell introduces the winner of the Gilbert Geis Award, Michael Levi



Michael Levi with Michael Benson

ASC Membership Renewals begin January 1.
Remember to include the DWCC section membership!

DWCC Happy Hour

Thanks for joining us at this year's Division Happy Hour! We will see you next year in D.C.!









Do you tweet? Follow us on Twitter @ASCdwcc to keep updated on DWCC events, announcements, job postings, and more!



Summary of DWCC Student Roundtables



Melissa Rorie, Nicole Piquero, Sally Simpson, and Kristy Holtfreter at the Promoting Excellence in White-Collar Crime Research roundtable

Best Practices in Teaching White-Collar Crime (discussants: Danielle McGurrin, Kent Kerley, Mary Dodge, Brian Payne, and Kip Schlegal): This session discussed topics including relevant textbooks for graduate and undergraduate students, using media including the *Swindled* podcast in courses, and potential books, TV specials, and movies to incorporate in class. Many in attendance agreed to share their syllabi with participants!

Promoting Excellence in White-Collar Crime Research (discussants: Nicole Piquero, Michael Benson, Kristy Holtfreter, Sally Simpson, and Mark Cohen): This session discussed topics including applying for grants, potential data sources, problems with obtaining and working with data, and data accuracy. Participants shared their research ideas and interests with panelists and got feedback.

Completing Your Dissertation (discussants: Erin Harbinson, Hannarae Lee, Miranda Galvin, Bryan Burton, and Kenneth Sebastian Leon): This session discussed topics including time management, the decision to embargo your dissertation, job searching, and working with dissertation chairs and committees.

Look for more Student Roundtables next year! Let us know if there is something you'd like to discuss.

This newsletter was created by members of the DWCC Student Committee.

Send us your news to DWCCNews@qmail.com or through the DWCC website!



DWCC Student Committee: Diana Sun, Emily Homer, and Megan Novak